24 – Volkswalk – Bellingham 10K

Consisting of designated, pre-planned, mapped out routes through towns, parks and forests, usually either 5K or 10K in length, it was in 2007 that I was first started Volkswalking. Volkswalking groups often combine several of their designated routes in order to host 40K to 70K “events” and invite other Volkswalking groups to join in on all that Volkswalking fun as log books are kept and pins, awards and badges are handed out to the participants. So that’s what I did for a couple of years, I Volkswalked. I participating in walks and events with the Northwest Tulip Trekkers, and found myself following the streets of Anacortes, LaConner, Bellingham, Arlington, Blaine, Leavenworth, Cashmere, Wenatchee, Oak Harbor and more.

My Volkswalk Event Log Books

While some of my favorite Volkswalking treks took me to new trails, through forests, parks and preserves where I had never been to before, it seemed a majority of their routes were along sidewalks and city streets. An avid trail hiker, before long I found myself returning on my own to more thoroughly explore and hike many of those trails that were new to me (some of which remain my favorites to this day!) rather than continuing to trek with Volkswalking groups.

Fast forward 2012, Volkswalking friends from the Everett area were in Bellingham for a 10K that included Cornwall Park (I recently hiked the trails through Cornwall Park – see Hike #22 – Cornwall Park), the Lower Bay Baker Trail (one of my local favorites!), so I joined them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As with previous Volkswalks, I still felt considerably more time was spent walking along city streets and sidewalks for my personal taste during today’s 10K, yet I thoroughly enjoyed the companionwhip along the way. Since this Volkswalk route turned off the Lower Bay to Baker Trail and back onto city streets well before reaching Little Squalicum Beach (if you didn’t know it was there before this Volkswalk, you still wouldn’t!), I was left with the feeling of wanting more. Coincidently, a hiking friend and I had recently discussed following the Lower Bay to Baker trail from Cornwall Park to Little Squalicum Beach. Go here – Snow Day – Lower Bay to Baker Trail, or here – Precarious Parking – Lower Bay to Baker Trail, or here Fall Colors – Lower Bay to Baker Trail, to see photos from when I have hiked this route in the past. Now I look forward to when this rain storm that has been hovering heavy over our heads has moved on so that I can hit that trail again.

Categories: Hiking, Nature, Photography, Whatcom County | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “24 – Volkswalk – Bellingham 10K

  1. Pingback: 26 – Lower Bay to Baker Trail « Sixty Before Sixty

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Fringe Association

Knitting ideas, inspiration and free patterns, plus crochet, weaving, and more

#hotelprius

The blog about living life out of a prius and the adventures and life lessons along the way.

Oregon Coast Living

Life on the Coast

Central Oregon Coast NOW

The Central Oregon Coast Chapter of the National Organization for Women (NOW)

Wool Ewe...

wash-card-comb-spin...wool?

Southern Oregon Trails

Living & Hiking in Oregon

The Knitting Theologian

A Knitter's Blog

On the Needles

Knitting isn't so hard... sometimes

Live To Ride, Ride To Live!

Life's just better on two wheels!

Hiking Frogs

French hikers around the world

40 Days in the Wilderness:

Hiking the Pacific Crest Trail through Oregon with Gretchen, Dave and (not) Tripp

Mots et Pensées

A story about knitting, crochet and words

Feel Good Knitting

Because Knitting Should Feel Good

Night Knitter

another knitting and sewing blog

woodlandknitter

Wool, Waldorf and Wanderings

Other time, other place

Just another WordPress.com site

Wandering the Wild

Backpacking the Pacific Crest Trail and Beyond

Deep Green Love

The happy side of green!

Guthook Hikes!

Hike Light, Hike Far, Hike Often

